The Western Carolina Journalist staff

Spring 2017

Editor-in-Chief

Haley Smith, hbsmith3@catamount.wcu.edu

News

Editor Ashley Kairis, aakairis1@catamount.wcu.edu

Editor Rachel Plouse, rekelly2@catamount.wcu.edu

Caleb Peek, cgpeek1@catamount.wcu.edu

Jesse Pigeon, jrpigeon1@catamount.wcu.edu

Jessica Wooten, jlviscount1@catamount.wcu.edu

Campus

Editor Imani Stewart, imstewart1@catamount.wcu.edu

Editor Gavin Stewart, gestewart1@catamount.wcu.edu

Stephen Baldwin, stbaldwin2@catamount.wcu.edu

Amber Degree, ajdegree1@catamount.wcu.edu

Austin McDowell, agmcdowell1@catamount.wcu.edu

Rebecca Ross, rjross2@catamount.wcu.edu

Outdoor

Editor Ashley Kairis, aakairis1@catamount.wcu.edu

Editor Kayla Minion, kaminion1@catamount.wcu.edu 

Julia Lewis, jelewis3@catamount.wcu.edu

Kristie Watkins, kewatkins1@catamount.wcu.edu

Community

Editor Jessica Wooten, jlviscount1@catamount.wcu.edu

Taylor Harbison, tjharbison1@catamount.wcu.edu

Julia Lewis, jelewis3@catamount.wcu.edu

Arts and Entertainment/ Opinions

Editor Alec Simkiss, ajsimkiss1@catamount.wcu.edu

Daniela Gamboa, dgamboa1@catamount.wcu.edu

Brandon Key bbkey1@catamount.wcu.edu

Yustin Riopko, yjriopko1@catamount.wcu.edu

Gavin Stewart, gestewart1@catamount.wcu.edu

Sports 

Editor Rebecca Ross, rjross2@catamount.wcu.edu

Assistant Editor Hayden McAteer, chmcateer1@catamount.wcu.edu

Assistant Editor Jesse Pigeon, jrpigeon1@catamount.wcu.edu

Chris Lang, nclang1@catamount.wcu.edu

Daniel Ranz, daranz1@catamount.wcu.edu

Marcus Smith, mssmith10@catamount.wcu.edu

Contributors:  

David Johnson, dajohnson9@catamount.wcu.edu

Keegan Wiggins, kmwiggins1@catamount.wcu.edu

 

Advisor: Katerina Spasovska, kspasovska@wcu.edu

 

Fall 2016

Editor-in-Chief/News Editor

Haley Smith, hbsmith3@catamount.wcu.edu

News Editor

Haley Smith, hbsmith3@catamount.wcu.edu

Assistants:
Zane Perkins, zrperkins1@catamount.wcu.edu

Campus Editor

Meghan O’Sullivan, mdosullivan1@catamount.wcu.edu

Outdoor editor

Ashley Kairis, aakairis1@catamount.wcu.edu

Kayla Minion, kaminion1@catamount.wcu.edu

Arts and Entertainment/ Opinions Editor

Molly Morgan (music reviews), mamorgan3@catamount.wcu.edu

Alec Simkiss ajsimkiss1@catamount.wcu.edu

Sports Editor 

Calvin Inman, rcinman1@catamount.wcu.edu

Connor Mills, cfmills1@catamount.wcu.edu

Assistants:

Chad Grant, clgrant1@catamount.wcu.edu

Contributors: 

Hannah Fink, hrfink1@catamount.wcu.edu

David Johnson, dajohnson9@catamount.wcu.edu

Marcus Smith, mssmith10@catamount.wcu.edu

Imani Stewart, imstewart1@catamount.wcu.edu

Keegan Wiggins, kmwiggins1@catamount.wcu.edu

 

Advisor: Katerina Spasovska, kspasovska@wcu.edu

 

Fall 2015 – Spring 2016

Editor-in-Chief/ News Editor

Hunter Bryn, hpbryn1@catamount.wcu.edu

News Editor

Haley Smith, hbsmith3@catamount.wcu.edu

Assistants: Michaela Neal, maneal1@catamount.wcu.edu;
Zane Perkins, zrperkins1@catamount.wcu.edu

Campus Editor

Shelby Lequire, splequire1@catamount.wcu.edu 

Assistants: Julia Hudgins, jmhudgins1@catamount.wcu.edu ;
Meghan O’Sullivan, mdosullivan1@catamount.wcu.edu

Outdoor editor

Samantha Cook, samantha.cook445@gmail.com ; slcook3@catamount.wcu.edu

Arts and Entertainment/ Opinions Editor

Kayla Brookshire, kmbrookshire1@catamount.wcu.edu

Temi Adeleye, taadeleye1@catamount.wcu.edu

Molly Morgan (music reviews), mamorgan3@catamount.wcu.edu

Sports Editor 

Connor Mills, cfmills1@catamount.wcu.edu

Assistants: Calvin Inman, rcinman1@catamount.wcu.edu

Chad Grant, clgrant1@catamount.wcu.edu

Multimedia Editor 

Bradley Lucore, blucore@email.wcu.edu

Contributors: 

Tabitha Hill, tlhill5@catamount.wcu.edu

David Johnson, dajohnson9@catamount.wcu.edu

Will Richards, wtrichards1@catamount.wcu.edu

Alec Simkiss, ajsimkiss1@catamount.wcu.edu

 

Advisor: Katerina Spasovska, kspasovska@wcu.edu

 

Spring 2015

Editor-in-Chief/ News Editor

Ceillie Simkiss: cpsimkiss1@catamount.wcu.edu

Managing Editor

Angela McCall : abmccall2@catamount.wcu.edu

News Editors

Michaela Neal: maneal1@catamount.wcu.edu

Darren Blackwell: dablackwell2@catamount.wcu.edu

Campus Editor

Rebecca Romo rtrujilloromo1@catamount.wcu.edu

Sports Editor

Jansen Silvers: jlsilvers1@catamount.wcu.edu

Barrett Boyles: bsboyles1@catamount.wcu.edu

Outdoor editor

Hunter Bryn: hpbryn1@catamount.wcu.edu

Arts and Entertainment/ Opinions Editor

Rebecca Roberts: rdroberts1@catamount.wcu.edu

Advertising/Social Media Editor

Christina Bridgeman: ccbridgeman1@catamount.wcu.edu

 

 

Fall 2014

Editor-in-Chief/ News Editor

Ceillie Simkiss: cpsimkiss1@catamount.wcu.edu

Campus Editor

Alina Voronenko: avoronenko1@catamount.wcu.edu

Sports Editor

Outdoor editor/Social Media Editor

Michael Williams: mbwilliams4@catamount.wcu.edu

 

Spring 2014

Editor-in-Chief/ News Editor

Dustin George: dlgeorge2@catamount.wcu.edu

News Editor

Ceillie Simkiss: cpsimkiss1@catamount.wcu.edu

Campus Editor

Tanner Hall: tjhall4@catamount.wcu.edu

Sports Editor

Ryan Keys: rskeys2@catamount.wcu.edu

Outdoor editor/Social Media Editor

David McLaughlin: dwmclaughlin2@catamount.wcu.edu

Arts and Entertainment Editor

Jessica Swink: jdswink2@catamount.wcu.edu

Assistant Arts & Entertainment Editor

Randy Conn: rbconn1@catamount.wcu.edu

Technology/ Opinion Editor

Jake Myers: jrmyers3@catamount.wcu.edu

 

Fall 2013

Editor-in-Chief/ News Editor

Dustin George: dlgeorge2@catamount.wcu.edu

Campus Editor

Kayla Godfrey: kmgodfrey3@catamount.wcu.edu

Sports Editor

Ryan Keys: rskeys2@gmail.com

Sports Feature Special Project Writer

Roger Cote: rccote1@catamount.wcu.edu

Outdoor editor

Hope Quinn: hmquinn2@catamount.wcu.edu

Arts and Entertainment Editor

Hana Haden: hlhaden1@catamount.wcu.edu

Assistant Arts & Entertainment Editor

Anna Sorrentino: agsorrentino2@catamount.ecu.edu

Technology/ Opinion Editor

Jake Myers: jrmyers3@catamount.wcu.edu

Photo Editor

Jamie North :  jbnorth1@catamount.wcu.edu

Social Media Editor

Tyana Johnson: trjohnson4@catamount.wcu.edu

 

Staff 2012-2013

Editor-in-Chief
Ben Hainesbthaines1@catamount.wcu.edu

Deputy Editor-in-Chief
Bayleigh Davisbsdavis4@catamount.wcu.edu

News Editor
Alisha Lambertadlambert1@catamount.wcu.edu

Assistant News Editor
Marysa Burchettmaburchett1@catamount.wcu.edu

Campus Editor

Becca Ziglarrlziglar1@catamount.wcu.edu

Sports Editor
Philip Jacksonprjackson2@catamount.wcu.edu

Outdoor Editor

Patrick O’Nealproneal1@catamount.wcu.edu

Photo Editor / Technology

Jamie Northjbnorth1@catamount.wcu.edu

Sports Feature Special Project Writer

Thomas Thayer
KB Carpenterkbcarpenter3@catamount.wcu.edu

Writers / Producers

Jessica Duncanjmduncan4@catamount.wcu.edu

John-Luke Carterjcarter2@catamount.wcu.edu

Roger Coterccote1@catamount.wcu.edu

Heather Crawfordhccrawford1@catamount.wcu.edu

Jenna Englertjrenglert1@catamount.wcu.edu

Max Maiermjmaier1@catamount.wcu.edu

If you are interested in becoming a contributor for the Western Carolina Journalist, please fill out the application form and email it to the editor-in-chief.

Part of the WCJ staff 2012. From left: Marysa Burchett, Jenna Englert, Heather Crawford, Roger Cote, Jamie North, Ben Haines, Philip Jackson and Max Maier.

 

 

 

Fall 2011/Spring 2012

Meredith Oakley, Editor-in-Chief

Shannon Christy, News and Outdoor Editor

Ben Haines, Assistant News Editor

Doug Powell, Sports Editor

Jean-Marie Jonell, Arts and Entertainment Editor

Jarrett Frazier, Photo Editor

KB Carpenter, Web Producer/general assignment contributor

Jessica Duncan, Web Producer /general assignment contributor

Liz van Metre, Contributor

Logan Sherill, Contributor

Fern Lulham, Contributor

Samantha Stedem, Contributor

 

Spring 2011

Lauren Johnson, Editor-in-Chief and Sports Editor, Major in Broadcasting

Brittany Hink, Managing and News Editor, Major in Journalism

Katelyn Cooper, Arts and Entertainment Editor, Major in Public Relations (not on the picture)

Shannon Christy, Outdoor Editor, Major in Broadcasting

Marcelo Maia, Assistant Outdoor Editor, international students in broadcasting

Shelby Harrell, Copy Editor and contributor covering WCU Greek life, Major in Journalism

Tucker Horne, Web Producer and Assistant Operating Manager, Major in Broadcasting

Justin Caudell, Contributor covering education, Major in

Olivia Bellamy, Contributor covering sports, Major in Broadcasting

Michael Jefferson, Contributor covering sports, Major in Broadcasting

Morgan Carver, Contributor covering Arts and Entertainment, Major in Broadcasting

Cannon Miller, Contributor general assignments, Major in Public Relations (not on the picture)

Jeffrey Hughes, Contributor general assignments, Major in Public Relations (not on the picture)

WCJ Staff, Spring 2011. From left: Lauren Johnson, Morgan Carver, Marcelo Maia, Olivia Bellamy, Brittany Hink, Tucker Horn, Mike Jefferson, Justin Caudell, Shannon Christy, and Shelby Harell.